Three Little Birds

Story of 3 little birds and one who soared above us all.

Long December

Happy 35th birthday to my babies daddy. I’m sure it’s going to be an interesting year ahead and without many dull moments. I’m quite glad to have you by my side in this journey.

On the triplets news side:

Ava is now working with taking milk from a bottle.  With her cleft palate, she has to use a special compression nipple and sit upright so it doesn’t all come out her nose. She made an impressive effort today and took a whole 10ml (or 2 tsp). she and her brother are still primarily fed through their nasogastric tube which they make many attempts to remove daily. At this age, a feeding is like a treadmill workout so we are only doing a couple a day so they don’t burn too many calories.

Wyatt is working on breastfeeding and seems to do better each day. He’s really the only one that can fully enjoy it so I will continue my efforts to help him out. The pump is becoming my new best friend.

Lydia is still causing us the most worry. We think her surgery to fix her TE fistula is the end of the week, but haven’t heard a date or time. We’re not sure if she’ll be able to have her esophageal atresia fixed at the same time or not, it will depend on how large a gap there is between her stomach and esophagus. She still remains on the oscillator vent and they go back and forth with her settings in between poking her heels for blood draws. She’s had a rough 18 days. It seems if they turn it too low, she overcompensates and breathes over the vent causing her to stress out and have more secretions. It doesn’t look like she’ll be able to be extubated until after she recovers from surgery since they believe stomach secretions keep backing up into her lungs. She’s the feisty one of the group and when she’s mad she lets everyone know by kicking all limbs and making the most pitiful little sad face. It will be such a relief to put this surgery behind us and finally be able to hold her and hear her little voice.

This is going to be a long December, but this year will be better than the last….

2 Comments

  1. Pam

    I am the grandmother of Joe and Julie’s triplets and heard about your new little family through them. I hope it won’t be too long before all three of your precious babies are strong and healthy and you can bring them home. I just want you to know that you are all in my thoughts and prayers.

  2. Grandma Brenda

    I love looking on this web site forthe up to date news on our babies. I am skipping facebook as I don’t have much computer time. Obviously you can tell by the pics that our Kevin is the one that set it up. I still have’t seen it but Brian was telling me he knew who set it up.
    Our babies are beautiful and they are in my prayers every night and thoughts during they day. Give them my kisses too! Love and hugs

Leave a Reply

