Three Little Birds

Story of 3 little birds and one who soared above us all.

Poetry therapy

Poetry seems to be especially empowering at this moment. Here is one shared from a friend who also has a special needs child.

“God saw you getting tired, a cure not meant to be.

So, He put his arms around you and whispered “come with me”.

With tearful eyes we watched you and saw you fade away,

although we loved you dearly, we could not make you stay.

A golden heart stopped beating, your tender hands at rest.

God took you home to prove to us he only takes the best.”

 

This is the poem that was in Lydia’s program. I had first read it when I learned of her heart diagnosis.

1/2 OF AN ANGEL’S HEART

It’s a beautiful day up in Heaven. Jesus is rounding up his tiniest
angels, to go live on earth, and be born.


One of the sweetest angels says to Jesus “I dont want to leave, I
like it here, and I will miss you.” He reassures the scared little
angel that everything will be okay, and that she is just going for a
visit.


She is still not swayed on this idea. So Jesus, kneels down, and
says “How about if you leave half of your heart here with me and
take the other half with you, will that be okay?” The angel smiles
and says “I guess that will work”.


But the little angel is still a little scared. She askes “Will I be
okay with only half of my heart?” Jesus replies, “Of course you
will, I have other angels there that will help out, and you will be
fine.”


Then Jesus gives the angel more details about his plan, he
says “When you are born, your Mommy will be scared, so you have to
be strong, and when you feel weak just remember that I have the
other half of your heart.” “Enjoy your time with your family, play
and laugh everyday.”


“And when its time to come back to Heaven, I will make your heart
whole again.” “Always remember, that you are not broken, just torn
between two loves.”

 

4 Comments

  1. Precious comfort for precious parents!

  2. kristen weborn

    I have been following from afar, Amanda, and my prayers have been frequent. I wanted to celebrate sweet Lydia’s life celebration, but 1/2 of my crew was vomiting…

    I would like to come see you or meet up with you in a few weeks when you’ve had some time and you need some company (if you want some time with me :)….)

    Lots of love coming your way-
    Your friend Kristen Welborn

    PS-You’ll always have your 3 little birds, it’s just that one amazingly special little bird had to fly back to heaven way too soon….I tried to post that on the day I found out Lydia had passed but don’t think I was successful…

  3. Cyndi Johnson

    WOW..I have never heard that but how true! She was such a joy and did her job well here on earth. Jesus must be so proud of her. God Bless you all!

  4. Marsha Hurst

    Oh, my, how comforting. God’s arms and all of ours are around your special family. I know how the hugs and prayers will help you.

Leave a Reply

