Three Little Birds

Story of 3 little birds and one who soared above us all.

Bob Marley

So thought I’d share the whole “3 little birds” story and if our family could have a theme song this would be it. We are not Rastafarians nor die hard Bob Marley fans. In fact, I probably couldn’t have named you many Marley tunes until my mid twenties. Clay has always been a drummer and while drumming his way through college picked up the steel drums. Soca Jukebox formed and as the Midwest’s hottest rocking steel drum of middle age white guys band, it’s only fitting they throw some Bob Marley tunes into the mix. Before I became pregnant, the song “Three Little Birds” was always one of my favorites. (For the record, Margaritaville still on the bottom of the list). As we were busy growing 3 little people and planning a nursery, my sister in law gave me 2 decorative figurines featuring a momma bird and daddy bird  each with their 3 little birds. It then became our nursery theme with a green room, blue sky and tree mural with 3 blue birds and the lyrics of the song around their room:

Rise up this mornin’,
Smiled with the risin’ sun,
Three little birds
Pitch by my doorstep
Singin’ sweet songs
Of melodies pure and true,
Sayin’, (“This is my message to you-ou-ou:”)

Singin’: “Don’t worry ’bout a thing,
‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right.”
Singin’: “Don’t worry (don’t worry) ’bout a thing,
‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right

On my 30th birthday I went to church very large and knowing bed rest was coming soon. While I don’t remember the message that day, at the end the band played the song “3 little birds” We didn’t yet know about Lydia’s heart defect but there was a red flag to take a closer look at her heart at the next ultrasound. I somehow was reassured on that day that somehow every little thing would be alright despite the results of the next ultrasound.

We would sing this to all the babies during their NICU days and Lydia had her ipod with at least 4 versions of the song on it. Wyatt and Ava heard it early on and some in the back ground when in Lydia’s room at Mercy or in her downstairs room but it wasn’t something we sang very often to them. They just thought their room just had the ABC’s going around it. In fact, the songs’s message seemed to cruely mock me that nothing was fine at all and if it popped on I skipped it.

About a month after Lydia died we would ask Wyatt and Ava about their favorite things. Ava’s favorite song would vary from Isty Pider to ABC to Tinkle Tinkle to Jingle Bell depending on the day. I was rather surprised when Wyatt told me his favorite song was “Don’t Wowwy (worry).” He’s always give us this answer of it being his favorite song despite not hearing it recently and would sing it pretty often. It’s not even on the “Daddy Sing CD” of Soca Jukebox songs that is the only music we ever get to hear in the car. (If any female singer starts, I get two little dictators yelling “NO MOMMY SING!   DADDY SING!”)

I like to think there’s some divine comfort in my ornery little 2 year old singing this song on repeat at random days. Here’s Wyatt rocking it out in his latest YouTube hit. Maybe by 3 he’ll have the verses down and not just repeat the chorus twenty time!

 

To hear the full version just look up Bob Marley and if you need a steel drum band at some upcoming event, check out Soca Jukebox. The lead singer is pretty hot!

1 Comment

  1. That was so great! Also adorable! Now I’m singing that chorus over and over in my head!

Leave a Reply

