Three Little Birds

Story of 3 little birds and one who soared above us all.

Halloween fun

There are some things a parents just has to put their foot down on no matter the amount of protests. I don’t budge on issues like brushing teeth or sitting in a car seat (even if I have to karate chop or hog tie them in). Health, safety, hygiene are all nonnegotiable. And coordinating holiday attire. I may or may not have used threats of no candy to keep them in a theme just one more year. We’ll see about next year, but having a little brother who can’t complain for at least a year or two does open up the costume possibilities… I had at least 5 years of pretty fabulous triplet themed costumes planned and I only got my 3 Little Bears in on one year so its only fair my 2/3rds oblige with my requests for duo outfits. Every year Wyatt and Ava have happily complied with my costume requests – until hitting the age of 3.5 when they must debate EVERYTHING. After changing their costume plans daily during the month of October, they finally were willing to be Little Red Riding Hood and Big Bad Wolf. Or at least we reached a fair compromise –  wear the costumes I made and go trick or treating and keep the loot (minus Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups  – I deserve something!) or stay home and watch the news. Sometimes a little “Love and Logic” parenting has to be replaced by bribery and threats. I’m sure they’ll appreciate their cuteness for years to come. They’ll either make it the highlight of my eulogy or tell their therapist, but after a good treat bounty, we all felt a little victorious this year.

005 078 086 105

1 Comment

  1. Amanda,

    I truly enjoy reading your blog posts–your photos are beautiful and your writing is captivating. Keep up this awesome “log of your littles!” I am sure that they will thank you one day!!

Leave a Reply

